Rockfish with Creamy Coconut Milk and Tomato Sauce

Prep: 15 mins | Cook: 35 mins | Yield: 2 servings


The other day, I was not up to make anything for dinner at all. 😛 I was too “lazy” to get in the kitchen so I thought “Ok, let’s  just finish up some leftovers”. BUT, upon opening the fridge, the very first thing I saw was the fish steaks I’d defrosted earlier. Argh (now my “idle” moment is ruined, literally. lol)! Rather than putting the fish back into the freezer, I decided to cook ’em for the night’s supper. Err! 😛 Thanks to our freshly harvested vegetables! They made it easier for me to come up with an easy, quick and tasty recipe. 😉

The very first dish I had in mind was “Spicy Sweet & Sour Rockfish”. It sounds yummy, doesn’t it? However, this time I wanted to make something new. Something I’ve never made before. So with all the vegetables we had in the refrigerator, I ended up making a “not-quite-American-Filipino-Mexican-Thai-Indian” dish. Five cuisines in one plate? Sure is! But yeah, I know, ’tis making me dizzy too. Lol

I am a fan of ICA and Chopped on Food Network, and if I’d join the challenge, I think my Rockfish dish might have put me through to the dessert round. Haha! Just kidding! Seriously, the dish is easy to prepare and tasty, and totally doable in under 50 minutes or less.

Ingredients 

  • 2 rockfish steaks, (cod works too)
  • Salt and black pepper
  • ½ cup vegetable oil
  • 4 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 large red onion, chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • medium fresh ginger, sliced
  • 5 string beans, cut into 3-inch
  • 2 large fresh okras, chopped
  • 1 red or green bell pepper
  • 2 Mexican chili peppers
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • Dash of curry powder
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 cup diced tomatoes
  • 2 cups coconut milk
  • 2 Japanese eggplants, sliced
  • 2 bunches small bok choy, blanched
  • 5 sprigs fresh chives
  • 1 cup fresh basil leaves
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Rinse the steaks over running water. Pat dry and season with salt and pepper. Heat the oil in a frying pan over medium heat. When oil is ready, fry the fish for 5 minutes each side, a total of 10 minutes, or until golden brown and crispy. Transfer to a paper towel-lined plate and set aside.

Using a different pan, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the onion, garlic and ginger and sauté until the onion is soft and translucent, about 2 to 3 minutes. Add the string beans, okra, and bell pepper, curry powder and cook for 3-5 minutes. Remove the string beans from the pan and set aside. Add the coriander, cumin, turmeric, cayenne and sugar, and stir a couple times, and then stir in the tomatoes and coconut milk, and simmer for 7-10 minutes. Add the string beans and cook for 3-5  minutes. Add the eggplants, bok choy and chives, and simmer for another 3 minutes. Add the fried fish steaks and basil leaves, and season with salt and pepper. Simmer for another 3-5 minutes, stirring occasionally. When serving, plate the fish individually, top with sauce and vegetables, and serve over steamed white rice. Enjoy!

Tip; If you wish to maintain the crispiness of the fish, do not add them into the (sauce) pan.

screen-shot-2017-02-09-at-7-23-18-pm

Thanks for dropping by, please enjoy!

