Ultimate Beef-Vegetable Soup


I’m like a weather. I’d come and go, huh? 😉 I meant to post this recipe sooner but as always, I got distracted like a bee. Haha!  Good thing I’ve had some times to spare today. Sweet!

So, speaking of the weather, I think it is a happy coincidence that January is not only national soup month, but also the peak of people’s efforts to shed off  “unnecessary fats” they or I must say, WE have accumulated during holidays. Lol! A lot of people believe that soup can help feel better when sick and, I am likewise surprised to know that this amazing dish also help people lose weight, if/when they consume the fewest calories when having it, rather than the same ingredients in solid form. I believe so because soup has a high water content which can help us feel full and better.

Broth-based soups packed with veggies give everyone the biggest bang for the caloric buck. And, just like (even your truly is not into it) salad, soup is a good vehicle for vegetables (all the fibers in vegetables also promotes feelings of fullness for few calories). And people who started lunch with vegetable soup ended up eating 20 percent less than those who skipped the soup. Ain’t that amazing?!

My husband stumbled upon the recipe on the web. Looking at it, he believes that the soup IS a good soup. I am not into “soup” but with the current weather, sure! Why not?  So I decided to make this recipe with my own version which I call “Ultimate Beef-Vegetable Soup”. Sounds like a wrestler, doesn’t it? 😀 The original recipe does not call for beef but as I have mentioned earlier, I am a “recipe-tweaker” type of cook, so yes, I tweaked it and as a matter of fact, it turned out really good. So, once again, I satisfied my number one critic, my hubby! A keeper one is always a good one.

Ingredientsultimatebeefstew:soup

2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil or butter
2 cups chopped onions (2 medium)
2 cups chopped celery (4 medium stalks)
1 cup chopped green bell pepper (1 medium)
4 cloves garlic, minced
3 cups chopped cabbage
3 cups chopped cauliflower (about 1/2 medium)
2 cups chopped carrots (4 medium)
2 cups green beans, cut into 1-inch pieces, or frozen, thawed
8 cups low-sodium vegetable, beff or chicken broth
2 cups water
1 15oz can tomato sauce
1 14oz can diced tomatoes
1 15oz can kidney or pinto beans, rinsed
1 bay leaf
4 cups chopped fresh spinach or one 10-ounce package frozen chopped spinach, thawed
½ cup thinly sliced fresh basil
10 tablespoons freshly grated Parmesan cheese

Directions

Heat oil in a large soup pot (8-quart or larger) over medium heat. Add onions, beef and garlic. Cook, stirring frequently, about13 to 15 minutes. Add water, broth, tomato sauce and diced tomato. Cover and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer until the meat is tender then add celery and carrots. Let simmer about 3-5 minutes then add the rest of the vegetables with spinach being last. Stir in basil. Serve soup while hot with 1-2 tablespoons cheese.

This soup is definitely a keeper but you won’t know until you try.

-‘Till next post fellas. . .

→Mei’s Cookery


Please leave a comment below regarding this recipe. Thanks!

