Spicy Tilapia w/ Coconut Milk


So, I didn’t realize that I’ve been out of the blogging world for awhile until today. I must have been really busy. Oh well, gotta face the real world sometimes. 😉

Tonight though, I am happy to reconnect with my blogosphere by posting a dish I recently made. Although, this is my native Filipino dish, but I got to admit this was my very first attempt to try the recipe. I wasn’t sure whether I’d make it right or botcher it, but I was surprised that it actually turned out pretty good. My husband is a big blunt food critic. If he thinks the food is not good, he’d flat out say it without any hesitation. No  kidding. And yes, this one passed through his “delicate” taste. 🙂

Ingredients

  • 2 pcs. whole tilapia (or 4-6 if using fillets)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 medium size fresh ginger (thinly sliced)
  • 2 long green chili
  • 1 medium red onion (sliced)
  • 1 stalk lemon grass, head crashed
  • 1 (13.5 oz) can of coconut milk if using whole Tilapia, 1 cup if using fillets
  • 1 bundle of mustard (or bok choy)
  • 2 large eggplants, sliced half and lengthwise
  • 1/4 teaspoon curry powder
  • Salt and ground black pepper, to taste

Directions

Clean the tilapia if using fresh one. In a pan with lid, saute the garlic, onion and ginger with the olive oil, about 2-3 minutes. Put the Tilapia, pour the coconut milk in and add the lemon grass, chili curry powder. Cover and simmer it over medium heat, about 15 minutes. When the sauce starts to thicken, add the eggplants. Cook for 5 minutes then add the mustard leaves. Season with salt and pepper.  Serve hot with rice. Very easy! 🙂

Have a happy meal Everyone! 🙂

screen-shot-2017-02-09-at-7-23-18-pm

Please leave a comment below regarding this recipe. Thanks!

