Spicy Tilapia w/ Coconut Cream


Tonight, I am happy to reconnect with my blogosphere by posting a dish I recently made after being gone for awhile. Although I grew up eating this Filipino dish, but I admit this was my very first attempt to try making the recipe. I wasn’t sure whether I’d do it right, but I was very happy that it turned out pretty good. My husband is a big blunt food critic. If he thinks the food is not good, he’d flat out say it without any hesitation and no, I am not kidding! 🙂

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic, peeled and crashed
  • 1 medium size fresh ginger (thinly sliced)
  • 1 medium red onion (sliced)
  • 2 large fresh whole tilapia, cleaned
  • 2 large eggplants, sliced half and lengthwise
  • 1 stalk lemon grass, head crashed
  • 1 tablespoon fish sauce, optional
  • 1 (13.5 oz) can of coconut cream
  • a pinch of curry powder, optional
  • 4 long green or red peppers
  • 1 bundle of mustard leaves (or bok choy), cleaned
  • Salt and ground black pepper, to taste

Directions

  1. Clean the tilapia.
  2. In a large pan, heat oil and sauté garlic, onion and ginger for 2 minutes.
  3. Add Tilapia and eggplant, and fry fish for 2 minutes each side, a total of 4 minutes.
  4. Add lemon grass, fish sauce, coconut cream and curry powder. Cover and cook for about 10 to 15 minutes over low-medium heat.
  5. When the sauce starts to thicken, add peppers and mustard leaves, and season with salt and pepper. Serve hot with rice. That easy! 🙂

Enjoy! 🙂

screen-shot-2017-02-09-at-7-23-18-pm

Please leave a comment below regarding this recipe. Thanks!

