GINATAANG TILAPIA

Tonight, I am happy to reconnect with my blogosphere by posting a dish I recently made after being gone for awhile. Although I grew up eating this Filipino dish but, I admit this was my first time to try making the recipe. I wasn’t sure whether I’d do it right but I was happy coz it turned out pretty good.

My husband is a big blunt critic. If he thinks the food is not good, he’d flat out say it without any hesitation. No, I’m not kidding! 🙂

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic, peeled and crashed
  • 1 medium size fresh ginger (thinly sliced)
  • 1 medium red onion (sliced)
  • 2 large fresh whole tilapia, cleaned
  • 2 large eggplants, sliced half and lengthwise
  • 1 stalk lemon grass, head crashed
  • 1 tablespoon fish sauce, optional
  • 1 (13.5 oz) can of coconut cream
  • a pinch of curry powder, optional
  • 4 long green or red peppers
  • 1 bundle of mustard leaves (or bok choy), cleaned
  • Salt and ground black pepper, to taste

Directions

  1. Clean the tilapia.
  2. In a large pan, heat oil and sauté garlic, onion and ginger for 2 minutes.
  3. Add Tilapia and eggplant, and fry fish for 2 minutes each side, a total of 4 minutes.
  4. Add lemon grass, fish sauce, coconut cream and curry powder. Cover and cook for about 10 to 15 minutes over low-medium heat.
  5. When the sauce starts to thicken, add peppers and mustard leaves, and season with salt and pepper. Serve hot with rice. That easy!

Enjoy!

 

Thanks for dropping by, please enjoy!

