Greek Salad


So I just wanted to share the dinner we prepared for our folks the other weekend. What we made were of course, the ones that mum “requested”. Yes, our mother dear placed an order and we blame FB for it. Haha! Kidding!

Since it was our first time ever to invite them over so both me and hubby were a bit nervous. We weren’t sure what to put on the table, so really, personally I was glad mum hinted us what they want. My husband made his “masterpiece* Eggplant Parmigiana for main dish whilst I did the rest. This dish is very addicting! If I can make a good meal, so does he. I guess, us not being into a restaurant much is not a bad thing after all. Ha! 🙂

Anyway, so I got the salad recipe idea from a Seafood Restaurant we ate at while we were up in Houston months ago. So far, this is my third time making this delicious and healthy plate of S. Just so love the flavor and what makes it more fantastic is that I’d put more different kinds of veggies on it whereas the restaurant’s version has only a few.

Can you imagine leaving the table after supper without having any dessert? Oh no, I can’t. To me it’s incomplete. Gotta have at something. So for this part, I made Mascarpone Cheesecake. I chose this one for dessert because this is one of mom’s favorites not to mention how crazy I am with it, too. Haha!

Ingredients
 
1 hothouse cucumber, unpeeled, seeded, and sliced 1/4-inch thick
1 red bell pepper, large-diced
1 yellow bell pepper, large-diced
1 pint cherry or grape tomatoes, halved
1/2 red onion, sliced in half-rounds
1/2 pound feta cheese, 1/2-inch diced (not crumbled)
1/2 cup calamata olives, pitted
 
For the vinaigrette:
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard
1/4 cup good red wine vinegar
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/2 cup good olive oil
Directions

Place the cucumber, peppers, tomatoes and red onion in a large bowl.

For the vinaigrette, whisk together the garlic, oregano, mustard, vinegar, salt and pepper in a small bowl. Still whisking, slowly add the olive oil to make an emulsion. Pour the vinaigrette over the vegetables. Add the feta and olives and toss lightly. Set aside for 30 minutes to allow the flavors to blend. Serve at room temperature.

 

screen-shot-2017-02-09-at-7-23-18-pm

Please leave a comment below regarding this recipe. Thanks!

