Chocolate Fudge Cake w/ Vanilla Frosting and Chocolate Ganache Glaze

My husband and I have been hearing about this Gluten-Free diet. A couple of weeks or so ago, we began doing some reading regarding it’s benefits to the human’s body. By researching, I learned myself that based on my diet off of the gluten-free phenomenon can be genuinely healthy and may benefit my cholesterol levels, digestion, and energy level which I know I have to do some “modifications”, anyway. Wink! Also, I’ve read that if we want to have a healthy gluten-free diet, that we must avoid lots of foods that contains gluten, including desserts, particularly “cake”. Ahm! This, I may have a bit difficulty avoiding since 1), I like to bake and 2), well, it’s obvious why. Lol.

Based on my other “posts”, it is kind of apparent that sometimes, my husband and I enjoy having some yummy dessert. For the past few days, I have been craving something sweet. And with this recipe, I thought I had a very good reason to make some delish (gluten-free) cake. Oh yes, the cake is completely gluten-free, so I don’t feel guilty makin’ and indulging it at all. Haha! Sharing the cake I made yesterday while everyone was busy celebrating “Memorial Day”. 😉 I usually take photograph of the whole thing, but this time I didn’t. Good thing I was able to snatched a picture of my piece though. Otherwise, my Chocolate Fudge cake would’ve been like it never existed. Lol. This cake is awesome! We enjoyed it a lot. So y’all enjoy it too. 😉


Prep: 45 minutes | Bake: 15 mins | Yield: 8 servings


Ingredients 

Cake;

  • 3 ½ cups brown sugar
  • ¾ cup canola oil
  • 3 extra-large eggs
  • 2 ⅔ cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 ¼ teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 ¼ teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 ½ teaspoons salt
  • 1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 ½ cups milk
  • 1 ½ cups water
  • 1 ⅛ cups cocoa powder

Frosting;

  • 1 ½ pounds sweet butter, softened
  • 3 cups sifted powdered sugar
  • 2 tablespoons vanilla extract
  • 1 pinch salt

Ganache;

  • 1 ¼ cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • ¾ tablespoon light corn syrup
  • ¾ cup heavy cream

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350º F. Grease 3 10-inch round cake pans. Line the bottom with parchment paper. Slightly flour them and set aside.

For Cake: In a large bowl, combine the brown sugar and oil, and mix well on a high speed. Add the eggs and mix for about 3 minutes. In another bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Set the mixture aside. In a separate small bowl, mix the vanilla and milk together and set aside as well. Bring the water to a boil and pour over the cocoa and whisk it until it’s smooth. To the egg mixture, alternately add the flour mixture and milk mixture until it is finished. Turn the mixer to low speed, and add the cocoa mixture in. Pour the batter into the prepared cake pans evenly. Bake the cake for 15 minutes, or until tester comes out clean. Let the cakes cool. Remove from pans and refrigerate until cold.

For FrostingUsing the same (and cleaned) electric mixing bowl, place the soft sweet butter and beat on a low speed while adding powdered sugar. Add in the vanilla and salt, and beat well for another 2-5 minutes. Remove the cakes from the fridge and place into a cake plate or a cake stand. Fill and frost the (3 layered) cake and refrigerate for about 15-20 minutes to set up the frosting.

For Ganache: In a medium heatproof bowl, place the chocolate chips and corn syrup, and place over boiling water. Let the bowl get hot but making sure the chocolate is not getting any water. Pour the heavy cream over the chocolate and whisk it until smooth. Set aside. Pour ganache over the top of the cake, and with a cake spatula, smooth the top of the cake and allow the ganache spill over the sides. Refrigerate for about 20-30 minutes before serving.

Thanks for dropping by, please enjoy!

